Review: Every Day by David Levithan

Every Day
Every Day

Pages: 322 pages
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Publisher: Knopf Books For Young Readers, August 2012
Format: paperback
Buy It Here:
Indigo | Book Depository | Amazon | Goodreads

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

It took me three tries to get into Every Day. The third attempt was the most successful; I was finally able read Every Day beginning to end. Not that I didn’t find the story interesting, but the beginning wasn’t really that appealing and I couldn’t get hooked; I had absolutely no faith that A would see Rhiannon again.

Every Day, as I had already mentioned, had a slow start. It took about a hundred pages before I finally got hooked. I mean, if you were constantly moving from body to body every day, chances are, even if you see or meet the same person again, your relationship won’t be the same. Logically, this just didn’t work out for me, but it was still intriguing.

What I love about this story is that there are so many plot lines intertwined into one, but it was still easy to understand. First there’s A and Rhiannon’s relationship, but on top of that, A still has to worry about the life of the body he/she was inhabiting that day and various other problems. However, I did have a problem with it being in first person, A’s POV. Sure, A was definitely going through and experiencing a lot every day, which was interesting, but the way the story was told in that perspective just got a little monotone and boring overtime.  I really did like A and Rhiannon’s relationship though. A was definitely not in the same body every day, but the ups and downs that A and Rhiannon went through every day was realistic. The ending is a totally different story. It killed me like it killed Hazel and Augustus in TFIOS when they read An Imperial Affliction. It can’t just end like that. It was so abrupt and it killed me in so many ways.

A’s character was beautiful. First off, he doesn’t take a specific gender and he does not have a determined sexuality, even if the body he inhabits does. Sexuality just doesn’t matter in this book, or in David Levithan’s other books, such as Boy Meets Boy. I felt like A was an innocent and naive character; even though he’s experienced so much having been to so many places, he also hasn’t experienced a lot, like losing someone you love, or falling in love with someone. On several occasions, I found A to be really desperate, like there was no tomorrow if Rhiannon wasn’t there with him or if he didn’t see Rhiannon for more than two days. On the other hand, when A was with Rhiannon, A was honestly the sweetest person and he/she is the type of person you can’t help but to fall in love with. Rhiannon was the opposite of A in my opinion. She was shy but she was fearless, and she did not let her differences with A come between them. Rhiannon is such a strong character I just love her so much.

Overall, Every Day was an interesting read, although the writing style wasn’t exactly what I liked. I’m definitely looking forward to reading the next book, Another Day (just released!), after the ending that I was left on. Really hoping to see some problems between A and Rhiannon resolved.

3.5/5 stars

Leave a comment